Create Game Lists on MeltedJoystick.com
FilmCrave home
   Movies  Members
Search +
Searching... Close  
Are you sure you want to delete this comment?
  
 
  Login Using Facebook
Twitter
 
     
 

The Truman Show (1998) Movie Reviews

Your Rating:
 
 
Buy The Truman Show (1998) DVD from AmazonBuy The Truman Show (1998) DVD from Amazon  Add to List: Add to movie listWrite Review +Request correction +Submit a plot +

Quick Movie Reviews

1 - 10 of 19 

Matthew Brady 02/17/2014 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

An insurance salesman discovers that his entire life has been a television show. This movie was heartbreaking and sad.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Ryan Stephen M 04/13/2013 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

I love it. Furthermore, I love the show big brother, and this is close to the territory the show covers. One of my favorites.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

FSUNoles27TS 12/12/2012 (1 of 1 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

A brilliant idea and a great self-discovery film. Jim Carey was perfect for this role and delivered an excellent performance. If you have ever been to Universal Studios in Orlando, you know that building a fake town isn't a stretch. I really enjoy this movie every time I watch it. As I watch Jim Carey realizing the bubble he lives in, I can understand the bubble we all find ourselves in. A great piece. I would have loved a sequel, where Carey adventures his new world and deals with fame. It would probably butcher this original, but could also be magnificent if done the right way.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Yojimbo 09/24/2012 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
2/4 

A strong concept but the script makes no attempt to analyse the moral and social implications of the subject matter. A decent but over-rated Carrey vehicle that's nowhere near as clever as it thinks it is. Eternal Sunshine Of The Spotless Mind is far superior.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

mitchellyoung 02/20/2012 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

"The Truman Show" is a creative dissection of views of media and perfection in society. Jim Carrey, while still maintaining comic charm, departs from his goofy persona to give a solid dramatic performance as well. The film is involving in the best possible way.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

SIngli6 12/12/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

'The Truman Show', a quietly unsettling and shockingly vaticinal satire from the creative mind of Andrew Niccol, was wondrously directed by the brilliant Peter Weir and charismatically championed by the terrifically layered lead performance of Jim Carrey as Truman Burbank (pun in moniker very much intended) and stands as a vindication of the existence of an intermediate sense of artistic innovation in Hollywood.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Snoogans 11/29/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

Unique premise that contains some good comedy and an endearing performance from Carrey.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Rod 07/15/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

"The Truman Show" is a comedy-drama movie of an insurance salesman, Truman Burbank (Jim Carrey), whose life is actually on filming and telecasts live on every part of the world. Jim Carrey never disappointed me, that is for sure! This 1998 movie is really ambitious. Amazing concept, without a doubt! Everything seems to be flawless and of the extremest of that time. JUST THAT, I questioned it for some times.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Gustavo˛ 07/30/2010 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

Apparently, inventiveness and dynamism are some of the qualities filmmaker Peter Weir will always have in his sleeves. He got the timing completely right for this one: THE TRUMAN SHOW was a witty, enjoyable "dramedy", obviously ahead of its time back in 1998, and it remains as one of the most essential and original cinematic experiences of the nineties. The plot themes offer some food for thought while the film-making itself boasts stunning moments of creativity. Laura Linney (who, unfortunately, wasn't in the running for a Best Supporting Actress Oscar nomination) and Ed Harris shine, and so does the wonderful score by Burkhard Dallwitz and Philip Glass.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

GJ81 03/23/2009 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

This is a perfect film. It really is. It's barely 90 minutes long, yet it has depth, humour, emotion and most importantly great ideas. On its release i saw it 3 times in the space of a week, and during the repeated viewings i found more to love. And i still do each time i've watched it since.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 
1  2  Next  
 
 
Log In
Help on how to log into FilmCrave
Login with Facebook
Login with FilmCrave
 
 
What Members Are Doing
Movie Talk
New Movie Reviews
New Movie Lists
Top Sci-Fi Movies by Nolane
Movies Seen by Alena
Recent Movies To See by Mr Cinema
2005 by Karmand
2017 Rated and Ranked by Chris Kavan
Movies First Seen in 2017 by royaluglydudes
Movies of 2017 by Stoney McStonerson
movies of 2017 by skater4159

 

 

 

Contact FilmCrave Public Relations    

Advertise and Business

Developer API

Contact Us

Jobs

About us

SiteMap

 

Support FilmCrave

FAQ and Help

News and Press

Terms of Use

Privacy