Create Game Lists on MeltedJoystick.com
FilmCrave home
   Movies  Members
Search +
Searching... Close  
Are you sure you want to delete this comment?
  
 
  Login Using Facebook
Twitter
 
     
 

True Romance (1993) Movie Reviews

Your Rating:
 
 
Buy True Romance (1993) DVD from AmazonBuy True Romance (1993) DVD from Amazon  Add to List: Add to movie listWrite Review +Request correction +Submit a plot +

Quick Movie Reviews

1 - 10 of 12 

FSUNoles27TS 12/27/2012 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

The dialogue just screams Tarantino. Every line was dissected and intentional, which is what makes conversations so interesting in all Tarantino films. It had that and it has the violence of Tarantino's style. What it didn't have and what it lacked was Tarantino in the director's chair. This movie was alright, but the performances, score, and final shoot-out scene lacked the Tarantino-esque style necessary to make this film better than it was. I enjoyed it, but I found it pretty flat. I love Slater in this movie. He is cool and nerdy at the same time.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

johnny black 07/30/2012 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

i did think this was a good film for its raw and original storyline and delivery. however i dont think here are any singled out performances that beg for specific recognition. but as a whole this film definitely has depth

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

mitchellyoung 01/19/2012 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

This weird and atmospheric violent tale reminded me a lot of Wild at Heart in that it populates a typical thriller with enough outlandish characters to feel unique. The odd romance of Christian Slater and Patricia Arquette works in an offbeat way and Brad Pitt is awesome in an early role as Slater's always stoned roommate.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Alaine 12/09/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

I love this movie. Brad Pitt as a stoner is perfect. This film is loaded with talented actors. The leads play off each other very well and their romance is a different one. I've watched this many times. Romance, criminals, violence...what's not to love?

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Snoogans 11/29/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

Great writing from Tarantino shines through this fun crime movie.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Armando Sanchez 11/14/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

Tony Scott may have directed this film,but it's still a Tarantino film! this film explodes with amazing characters, dialogue, and awesome death scenes.this film is truly amazing.Tarantino creates a world all of his own,truly amazing.the passion,violence in this film is amazingly written in a way like no other.it begs you to wonder how Tarantino wrote such an amzing script with so many loveable characters.amazing film! see it over and over again! 30 years from now,this film will still be considered a classic.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

deaddan2000 10/19/2010 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
1.5/4 

You could tell this was a Tarantino script because of all the random as hell characters (Gary Oldman in dreadlocks was hard to watch). However, the weird Jamaican style soundtrack really killed this movie for me. It would have been a lot better with a more serious score or at least more licensed songs. Watching Patricia Arquette get the shit kicked out of her by Tony Soprano should be disturbing, but....it wasn't. Walken was great as always.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Freddie 07/13/2010 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

What a great movie. I was a little concerned in the beginning that I was going to be bored and fall asleep about 10 minutes in. So false. I believe this was written by Tarantino, and this is definitely one of my Tarantino favorites. What a well cast movie. Everything was great from the acting, the action scene..and in the spirit of Quentin--the dialogue. The absolute worst part of the film was that Gary Oldman and Christopher Walken weren't in it long enough. They were both SO RIDICULOUS--especially Oldman, phenomenal. Definitely a must see. I wish I hadn't taken so many years to get on this bandwagon.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

AttackoftheSequel 06/15/2010 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

Great movie. It was better than I thought it was going to be. Arquette and Slater were both great. They worked well together. The trailer that I watched did not give it justice, as can happen sometimes. Love the theme song.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

horrorlover101 03/30/2009 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

Starts off with gusto and never lets go, one of the movies that I can watch over and over again and never get tired of. Quentin's script in my opinion is flawless, like all of his stories he is able to create his own worlds and throughly suck the viewer in. The dialouge is fresh and original and gives the characters depth that they otherwise would not have. As far as direction I think Tony Scott was perfect and that his visuals and style of filming really went well with the story. In my opinion this film is a true cinema classic and deserves to be seen for years to come.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 
1  2  Next  
 
 
Log In
Help on how to log into FilmCrave
Login with Facebook
Login with FilmCrave
 
 
What Members Are Doing
Movie Talk
New Movie Reviews
New Movie Lists
Top Sci-Fi Movies by Nolane
Movies Seen by Alena
Recent Movies To See by Mr Cinema
2005 by Karmand
2017 Rated and Ranked by Chris Kavan
Movies First Seen in 2017 by royaluglydudes
Movies of 2017 by Stoney McStonerson
movies of 2017 by skater4159

 

 

 

Contact FilmCrave Public Relations    

Advertise and Business

Developer API

Contact Us

Jobs

About us

SiteMap

 

Support FilmCrave

FAQ and Help

News and Press

Terms of Use

Privacy