Create Game Lists on MeltedJoystick.com
FilmCrave home
   Movies  Members
Search +
Searching... Close  
Are you sure you want to delete this comment?
  
 
  Login Using Facebook
Twitter
 
     
 

Top Gun (1986) Movie Reviews

Your Rating:
 
 
Buy Top Gun (1986) DVD from AmazonBuy Top Gun (1986) DVD from Amazon  Add to List: Add to movie listWrite Review +Request correction +Submit a plot +

Quick Movie Reviews

1 - 10 of 14 

Ian 09/25/2015 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
2/4 

I liked Quentin Tarantino's take on this film. Regardless, this is a classic which should be seen by all in order to understand the mindset of society in that era. It also has one of the best theme songs ever recorded.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Yojimbo 10/28/2012 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
1/4 

Unbelievably lame Hollywood actioner that mixes decent aerial sequences with a dim-witted testosterone soaked soap opera when it's on the ground. Cliched and idiotic.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Taz 07/15/2012 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

Our local movie theater played this last night as a late night special at 11:30pm. I have seen the movie plenty of time but I have always suspected that it was one of those movies that was a little more fun on a big screen then it was on my TV at home. Boy was I right, the flight sequences translated to big screen great and the classic sound track sounded great in the theater sound system. Then it still had the fun story and great dialog that you know and love from this classic movie. If you ever get a chance to see this movie on the big screen at any time of day it is worth it.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Daniel Corleone 01/03/2012 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

LT Pete "Maverick" Mitchell and his Radar Intercept Officer (RIO) LTJG Nick "Goose" Bradshaw fly the F-14A Tomcat aboard USS Enterprise (CVN-65). Its story revolves around Maverick mainly and gets close to Charlotte "Charlie" Blackwood (Kelly McGillis). Had one of the best dog fights on film with a stylish aura such as the shades and soundtrack which catapulted Cruise into stardom. The dialogue may have been due to the times but Top Gun entertains because of themes of friendship, love and bravery.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

mitchellyoung 12/27/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

Top Gun is one of the ultimate 80's movie - a combination of spectacular photography, great action scenes, some slick one-liners, a soundtrack that is better than the movie, and some scene-chewing acting by Cruise and Kilmer. Despite its constant cheesiness, it's difficult to dislike this movie.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Snoogans 11/29/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
2/4 

Cool 80's movie. Maybe too cool for it's own good. The aerial scenes are best.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

donkeyknight 05/02/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
2/4 

As many times as people have said to me, "What? You haven't seen Top Gun!!?" I was expecting something legendary. Yeah, I just wasn't feeling it. Goose is a pretty cool character, but the rest of the movie...meh.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

sapien 09/21/2009 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

This is probably the first Tom Cruise movie I ever saw. And, it's one of his best.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Gabe 06/13/2009 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

Not quite as good as I remember it. The love story tends to slow the movie down, all I want to see is some dogfights. But, it's still a classic, iconic movie of the 80's, a must see for anyone.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

serioussir 05/08/2008 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

For the 80s, this was a great flick! Action, romance, drama. Typical Cruise performance but we hadn't seen too much of him in 1986. Kilmer is a good rival and Edwards is a loveable friend.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 
1  2  Next  
 
 
Log In
Help on how to log into FilmCrave
Login with Facebook
Login with FilmCrave
 
 
What Members Are Doing
Movie Talk
New Movie Reviews
New Movie Lists
2017 Rated and Ranked by Chris Kavan
Best Horror Films of all Time by cacb3995
Top Movie List by Seth
2012 by Karmand
Top Movie List by SIngli6
Movies I watched for the Nth time by Rod
Watched in 2017 by tonks76
Movies of 2017 by Stoney McStonerson

 

 

 

Contact FilmCrave Public Relations    

Advertise and Business

Developer API

Contact Us

Jobs

About us

SiteMap

 

Support FilmCrave

FAQ and Help

News and Press

Terms of Use

Privacy