Create Game Lists on MeltedJoystick.com
FilmCrave home
   Movies  Members
Search +
Searching... Close  
Are you sure you want to delete this comment?
  
 
  Login Using Facebook
Twitter
 
     
 

Tootsie (1982) Movie Reviews

Your Rating:
 
 
Buy Tootsie (1982) DVD from AmazonBuy Tootsie (1982) DVD from Amazon  Add to List: Add to movie listWrite Review +Request correction +Submit a plot +

Quick Movie Reviews

1 - 9 of 9 

Gabe 02/09/2013 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
2.5/4 

Quite frankly, this is hardly a comedy. Bill Murray and Sydney Pollack get the best lines. I don't know how this got a Best Picture nomination in 1982. I'm not saying it's a bad film, but there have been better. I think it's funny how the AFI called this the second funniest film of all-time, behind another cross-dressing film, Some Like It Hot. This is a pretty "blah" film.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Yojimbo 10/20/2012 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
1.5/4 

Bill Murray is great in a supporting role, but this cross dressing comedy is purely by the numbers. It's better than Mrs. Doubtfire, but then again, so is rectal surgery...

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

mitchellyoung 12/11/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

This is the best of the "man dressing as woman" genre. Hoffman gives a nuanced portrayal and the film doesn't go for the easy crossdressing jokes and instead derives the film's comedy from exploration of gender roles and romance.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

patjohnson76 11/06/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

It's been years since I've seen this movie - probably not since we rented it on VHS when I was a kid. A lot of "greats" can be associated with this movie - one of the great comedies, one of Dustin Hoffman's great roles, and one of the great culturally significant films of its time. I'm also impressed in its ability to still hold up nearly 30 years after its release. If you haven't seen it, or haven't seen it for awhile, check it out.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

PsychoKing1227 05/02/2010 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

A very fun movie full of some of the greatest comedic moments captured on film. Dustin Hoffman excels brilliantly and Pollack's directing is top notch!

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

sapien 10/01/2009 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
2/4 

The first time I saw this, I loved it. But, I just watched it a few years ago, and I didn't think it was very good at all.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Ikkinbot 08/24/2009 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

A truly classic comedy. Dustin Hoffman is great as Tootsie. While the story may seem odd it works some how. A really fantastically funny movie.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

serioussir 05/08/2008 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

This was really a great show for its time. Keep in mind that 20 plus years ago costuming and makeup were not as advanced as they are now and still Hoffman's transformation is quite convincing. Hoffman is hilarious as Dorothy Michaels. Murray is great as his roommate. Coleman gives another good performance as the jerky boss. I still find this movie funny and still recommend it.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Alex 02/15/2007 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
2/4 

Too bad I already saw Mrs. Doubtfire before I saw this. Hoffman is great, and the movie is decently entertaining, but still not worth my time to ever see again.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 
1    
 
 
Log In
Help on how to log into FilmCrave
Login with Facebook
Login with FilmCrave
 
 
What Members Are Doing
Movie Talk
New Movie Reviews
New Movie Lists
Top Movie List by Seth
Movies I Want To See by dadams
Movies I've Watched by Chris Ghost
Top Movie List by Marugo
2009 by Karmand
To See: 2017 Movies by Alex
My Wish List by bigboy89
My Wish List by Andrew

 

 

 

Contact FilmCrave Public Relations    

Advertise and Business

Developer API

Contact Us

Jobs

About us

SiteMap

 

Support FilmCrave

FAQ and Help

News and Press

Terms of Use

Privacy