Create Game Lists on MeltedJoystick.com
FilmCrave home
   Movies  Members
Search +
Searching... Close  
Are you sure you want to delete this comment?
  
 
  Login Using Facebook
Twitter
 
     
 

To Kill a Mockingbird (1962) Movie Reviews

Your Rating:
 
 
Buy To Kill a Mockingbird (1962) DVD from AmazonBuy To Kill a Mockingbird (1962) DVD from Amazon  Add to List: Add to movie listWrite Review +Request correction +Submit a plot +

Quick Movie Reviews

1 - 10 of 15 

mitchellyoung 01/24/2013 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

Gregory Peck gives his career role in To Kill a Mockingbird, with every nuance bringing to life the good-hearted and intelligent lawyer Atticus Finch. The film's courtroom scenes are tense and revealing and don't pull their punches in terms of respecting the audience's intelligence. The supporting cast is equally wonderful and the film deals with a touchy subject with gravity and revelation.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Alaine 12/09/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

Has anyone not seen this? If you haven't, you've missed a truly great film. Please be sure you've seen this at least once in your life.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Snoogans 11/29/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

Terrific adaptation of a terrific novel. The themes of the story remain timeless. This is due to the excellent execution of the material The film gives us a child's eye point-of-view to the ugliness of this racially charged situation. There's a genuine tenderness between the father and his children. Atticus is the purest role model. Peck is immaculate in his sincere portrayal of the character. It feels as if he is not just teaching his children a life lesson, but also the audience. Powerful sentiment is reached through the moral injustice done to Tom Robinson. His trial is one of the best dramatic courtroom scenes ever filmed.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

The Film Rebel 10/31/2010 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

A truly magnificent film. Peck deserved his Oscar.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

patjohnson76 06/06/2010 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

A classic that simply endures as time goes on. Gregory Peck is pretty much the only actor of his generation I can imagine playing Atticus Finch, one of modern literature's greatest heroes. The supporting cast is strong and it is simply amazing that you can view this film today and still feel the impact it must have had in its day. It's rare to see a classic of literature translate so well to the screen, so this interpretation is truly remarkable.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

PsychoKing1227 04/06/2010 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

A beautiful story of ethics in the Great Depression that is founded both on personal qualities concerning racism and law as well as the exploration of what is acceptable in the entirety of a person's soul. Harper Lee's story is told in one of the best screen adaptations out there and is quite possibly one of the most hauntingly frightening stories ever told. A great performance by Gregory Peck, this is Oscar gold and something that can never again be retold.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Zombified 12/29/2009 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
2/4 

To Kill a Mockingbird was a great adaptation, unfortunately, I never really cared for the book because I found the story extremely boring. The story for To Kill a Mockingbird matching the book almost perfectly, which is great, especially for high school students that don't want to read the book. Unfortunately for me, I struggled through the book and then they made us watch the movie in class. That was the longest movie I've ever watched in my life. I have to give it credit though, because the characters and story were very accurate to the book. However, I probably will never watch this movie ever again because it was boring.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Aza 11/09/2009 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

A remarkable, breath-taking classic with a extraordinary and unforgettable performance by Gregory Peck.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

GJ81 06/24/2009 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

Its a great film. But did i love and adore it? Mmmmm No. Maybe with time and a second viewing I will, but something just didn't sit right with me. I know its regarded as a classic, but there was nothing in it that i thought was wow..powerful stuff. Even the courtroom scenes seemed to just doddle along nice enough but didn't grab me by the collar. I wanted that from this movie. Shame. Its still wonderfully watchable, i just wanted more.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

sapien 11/08/2008 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

It's the classic movie (and book) about race in America. I would highly reccomend it to anyone looking to find some insight on American racism. This is a wonderful movie. And, Atticus Finch is a wonderful character. Gregory Peck is awesome in this!

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 
1  2  Next  
 
 
Log In
Help on how to log into FilmCrave
Login with Facebook
Login with FilmCrave
 
 
What Members Are Doing
Movie Talk
New Movie Reviews
New Movie Lists
Top Movie List by Seth
Movies I Want To See by dadams
Movies I've Watched by Chris Ghost
Top Movie List by Marugo
2009 by Karmand
To See: 2017 Movies by Alex
My Wish List by bigboy89
My Wish List by Andrew

 

 

 

Contact FilmCrave Public Relations    

Advertise and Business

Developer API

Contact Us

Jobs

About us

SiteMap

 

Support FilmCrave

FAQ and Help

News and Press

Terms of Use

Privacy