Create Game Lists on MeltedJoystick.com
FilmCrave home
   Movies  Members
Search +
Searching... Close  
Are you sure you want to delete this comment?
  
 
  Login Using Facebook
Twitter
 
     
 

Taxi Driver (1976) Movie Reviews

Your Rating:
 
 
Buy Taxi Driver (1976) DVD from AmazonBuy Taxi Driver (1976) DVD from Amazon  Add to List: Add to movie listWrite Review +Request correction +Submit a plot +

Quick Movie Reviews

1 - 10 of 18 

Matthew Brady 07/23/2014 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

"Are you taking to me?" The film is about a taxi driver who obsesses over a woman, while at the same time he tries to save a young prostitute. His mental instability makes him go to the extreme in certain situations. This movie was brilliant, I mean the directing was brilliant and Robert de Niro was brilliant has the taxi driver.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

worleyjamers 06/29/2013 (0 of 1 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

Not my favorite Scorsese picture, but it's certainly a classic.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

mitchellyoung 02/27/2013 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

Journey through the dirtiness of New York City with Taxi Driver. The film plays like a thriller, but, really, is a layered paranoid psychological study. Robert De Niro gives an appropriately unhinged performance as the film's anti-hero and the film's thematic depth is intriguing. The film, ultimately, has a redemptive conclusion (albeit a little up in the air,) though it drags us through the muck and slime of NYC in its search for fulfillment.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

FSUNoles27TS 12/06/2012 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

This movie is so subtlety amazing. Easily jumped into my Top 25 favorite movies. Considering the first time I saw it was 2012 is a little crazy. De Niro gives his best performance that will be looked upon for decades. The slowness of the movie throughout adds to its luster when it all comes to unfold in a brilliant climax. "Are you looking at me?". Great movie (Top 25 Favorites) (Top 50 Greatest)

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Yojimbo 09/13/2012 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

What can I say that hasn't already been said? An acting and directorial tour-de-force.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

MaceeRae 12/15/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

Love this film!!! Travis Bickle held me rapt, didn't leave my seat from beginning to end. It was the first of its' kind in the 70s, and it just grabbed you. DeNiro was superb, and he and Scorsese created a masterpiece.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Snoogans 04/16/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

My favorite of all Scorsese's pictures. Stone cold classic.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

GJ81 03/23/2009 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

This movie is the worst kind of poison...but I love love love it!

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

horrorlover101 01/20/2009 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

The seventies was a great decade for film and this is one of the classics that just gets better with age. The ending explodes onto the screen and De Niro's subtle performance has already gone down in history as one of films best. I say if you haven't seen this film you really have to make it top on your rental list. You may not like it but you have to at least appreciate the beauty and ferocity with which it was made. Scoresese is a film God and deserves all of the credit that he has gotten over the years for his work. Well I will quit rambling but just see this film!!

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

sapien 11/04/2008 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

This is an excellent movie! It has many amazing scenes. And, the climax is perhaps the best one in movie history. This is definitely a psycho-thriller that works! But, of course, anytime that Scorsese and De Niro work together, you know that the product will be awesome.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 
1  2  Next  
 
 
Log In
Help on how to log into FilmCrave
Login with Facebook
Login with FilmCrave
 
 
What Members Are Doing
Movie Talk
New Movie Reviews
New Movie Lists
2002 by Karmand
movies of 2018 by skater4159
Watched in 2017 by tonks76
2017: Best to Worst by Nolane
Top Films of 2013 by Neobowler
Movies of 2017 by Stoney McStonerson
2017 Rated and Ranked by Chris Kavan
Top Movie List by Michael

 

 

 

Contact FilmCrave Public Relations    

Advertise and Business

Developer API

Contact Us

Jobs

About us

SiteMap

 

Support FilmCrave

FAQ and Help

News and Press

Terms of Use

Privacy