Create Game Lists on MeltedJoystick.com
FilmCrave home
   Movies  Members
Search +
Searching... Close  
Are you sure you want to delete this comment?
  
 
  Login Using Facebook
Twitter
 
     
 

Spaceballs (1987) Movie Reviews

Your Rating:
 
 
Buy Spaceballs (1987) DVD from AmazonBuy Spaceballs (1987) DVD from Amazon  Add to List: Add to movie listWrite Review +Request correction +Submit a plot +

Quick Movie Reviews

1 - 10 of 15 

SIngli6 05/14/2013 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

An hilarious and dreadfully quotable film that derives it's humour more from good delivery than wit.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

FSUNoles27TS 12/17/2012 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
2.5/4 

I dunno. I guess its pretty funny. I hate parody movies. They are cheap and stupid to where they are almost unbearable. This one definetely tops the genre. But when you put it against the Scary Movies and Epic Movie films, that is not a great accomplishment. The star-studded cast definitely raises the interest in the film, but it just wasn't enough for me.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Yojimbo 11/24/2012 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
1/4 

Witless Mel Brookes parody that tries to be the Blazing Saddles of sci-fi, but has all the subtlety of a super star destroyer. Moranis' character is called Dark Helmet. Oh, my sides.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

mitchellyoung 12/27/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

Some of the parody attempts of the Star Wars franchise are hurried and goofy, but most of them land comedicly and the comic energy of this spoof film is contagious.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Daniel Corleone 11/11/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
2.5/4 

A typical spoof with a great cast. Films emulated were Star Wars, Wizard of Oz, Lawrence of Arabia, Planet of the Apes and more. The script was fresh, effects were almost similar to the films spoofed. Lines like "So, Lone Starr, now you see that evil will always triumph, because good is dumb." "I am your father's brother's nephew's cousin's former roommate." and "1, 2, 3, 4, 5? That's amazing! I've got the same combination on my luggage!" Spaceballs made me laugh a few times, which is enough to make a memorable comedy since it has spoofed such popular films.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Snoogans 06/22/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

Another memorable and very funny parody from Brooks. It's a big helping of goofy fun.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

sapien 02/17/2009 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

This is definitely Mel Brooks' best..., by far! I have a penchant for spoof movies. And, this is the best spoof movie there is. There's so many classic scenes in this movie it's hard to pinpoint my favorite. I guess I just love all of it.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

serioussir 05/27/2008 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

A funny, over-the-top parody of Star Wars. Expect it to be goofy, silly, gross and raunchy -- all the things that make a Brooks' film.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

cleverestgirl 03/18/2008 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

This movie is hilarious. All of the references cannot be caught in one viewing. The jokes are nearly endless and Rick Moranis was the funniest he has ever been in anything in this film. Joan Rivers is perfectly cast as the voice of Dot Matrix (eh? get it?) If you enjoyed anything about 80's schtick or loved the Star Wars franchise before it went all Jar-Jar Binks, you should watch this movie. And then watch it again. Nothing depressing happens in the whole movie, and that's amazing.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

sodapop 03/03/2008 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

This is actually the earliest movie I can recall ever watching in a theater. And although I have gone on to develop (naturally) a preference for other, earlier Mel Brooks works, I'll always have a soft spot for this movie which surprisingly still evokes some good genuine laughs many years later.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 
1  2  Next  
 
 
Log In
Help on how to log into FilmCrave
Login with Facebook
Login with FilmCrave
 
 
What Members Are Doing
Movie Talk
New Movie Reviews
New Movie Lists
Top Movie List by SIngli6
Movies I watched for the Nth time by Rod
Watched in 2017 by tonks76
Top Movie List by Seth
Movies of 2017 by Stoney McStonerson
Fantastic French Films I Have Seen by Chris Kavan
2017 by Karmand
2016 by Randall

 

 

 

Contact FilmCrave Public Relations    

Advertise and Business

Developer API

Contact Us

Jobs

About us

SiteMap

 

Support FilmCrave

FAQ and Help

News and Press

Terms of Use

Privacy