Create Game Lists on MeltedJoystick.com
FilmCrave home
   Movies  Members
Search +
Searching... Close  
Are you sure you want to delete this comment?
  
 
  Login Using Facebook
Twitter
 
     
 

Shining, The (1980) Movie Reviews

Your Rating:
 
 
Buy Shining, The (1980) DVD from AmazonBuy Shining, The (1980) DVD from Amazon  Add to List: Add to movie listWrite Review +Request correction +Submit a plot +

Quick Movie Reviews

11 - 20 of 22 

BmovieJosh 10/02/2009 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

This is the SK film that has the eeriest feel to it I think. I love the ending scene. It's fantastically done.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

PsychoKing1227 08/09/2009 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

Based on one of my favorite Stephen King books, "The Shining" tells a scary story with the lights on. You will never see a scene that is supposed to be scary in darkness, as was Stanley Kubrick's intention. A truly amazing piece of cinematic magic, this film is quite possibly the scariest movie of all time.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

ryan 05/03/2009 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

Good Movie. The only problem I have with it is how Stanley Kubrick decided to add or remove certain parts of this story. Kings version of The Shining is far more frightening because their is far more knowledge (due to more information and insight on King's part) and an overall understanding of the characters, thus making the events they experience much more horrific. The 1980 movie is a classic, but Kubrick could have made a great story a whole lot better.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Snoogans 02/02/2009 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

Classic horror tale from Stephen King adapted masterfully by Stanley Kubrick. This is an absorbing and tense slow burn of a thriller, with a great payoff. The psychology shines through.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

sapien 11/09/2008 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

Great movie! My favorite scene is when Nicholson's character gets a close-up. And you can just see him slowly lose his grip on reality by watching his eyebrows. Nicholson is that good of an actor where all it takes is the lifting of those awesome eyebrows of his to change the scene entirely.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

JanethCruz 07/16/2008 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

Truly one of the best horror/thriller films ever! I fist saw it when I was 10 and I was petrified to go to the bathroom at night thinking I would see those little girls. I wish they would make more films like this one. Today, horror movies have a lot of unnecessary violance and nudity (and of course bad acting). True horror movies, like The Shinning, prove that less is more. What makes this movie so terrifying is that the scenerio could actually happen. People are able to go insane if they are stuck in a place as isolated as the Overlook Hotel where you have many places to hide but nowhere to run.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

serioussir 05/13/2008 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

One of the scariest movies I've seen (keep in mind that it's 28 years old). A great Stephen King story -- the master of creepy. Nicholson is outstanding as Jack, the man who slowly slips into insanity while he and his family live alone in a deserted hotel for the winter. The addition of his son's ability to "see" things makes it even more frightening. You'll never see hotels the same way after this movie.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

fake_username 02/26/2008 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

A truly freightening horror movie, more scary than violent which is something they don't do anymore. Very intelligent metaphor for the killing of the native american indians. Don't believe me, collativelearning.com

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Allison 12/23/2007 (0 of 1 found this helpful)

Rating of
2/4 

Here's Johnny. The rushing blood sequence was ripped of in The Hours (with water). I think that maybe this film is very overrated and have never loved it. I am impressed that Stephen King dismissed this film. HAHA!

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Chris Kavan 02/19/2007 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

Stanley Kubrick seems to be able to leave you with images that will haunt you. For me, nothing is more unsettling in The Shining than those twins. Although it doesn't follow the novel, that's OK - Kubrick makes it his own and it works.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 
Prev  1  2  3  Next  
 
 
Log In
Help on how to log into FilmCrave
Login with Facebook
Login with FilmCrave
 
 
What Members Are Doing
Movie Talk
New Movie Reviews
New Movie Lists
Top Movie List by Seth
Movies I Want To See by dadams
Movies I've Watched by Chris Ghost
Top Movie List by Marugo
2009 by Karmand
To See: 2017 Movies by Alex
My Wish List by bigboy89
My Wish List by Andrew

 

 

 

Contact FilmCrave Public Relations    

Advertise and Business

Developer API

Contact Us

Jobs

About us

SiteMap

 

Support FilmCrave

FAQ and Help

News and Press

Terms of Use

Privacy