Create Game Lists on MeltedJoystick.com
FilmCrave home
   Movies  Members
Search +
Searching... Close  
Are you sure you want to delete this comment?
  
 
  Login Using Facebook
Twitter
 
     
 

The Shawshank Redemption (1994) Movie Reviews

Your Rating:
 
 
Buy The Shawshank Redemption (1994) DVD from AmazonBuy The Shawshank Redemption (1994) DVD from Amazon  Add to List: Add to movie listWrite Review +Request correction +Submit a plot +

Quick Movie Reviews

31 - 40 of 43 

Owtkast 08/26/2008 (1 of 1 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

For a young guy like me...the title itself is enough to look the other way. Boy was I wrong. Luckily for me, I happened to catch it on HBO while I was flipping the channel. You really get attached with the characters in this movie and the ending is sooo satisfying. Probably the best ending I've seen in a movie. You have to check it out, you won't regret it!

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

serioussir 05/13/2008 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

This is one of my all time favorite movies. Based on the writing of the great Stephen King, the story is moving, dramatic, frightening and wonderful. Robbins and Freeman deliver powerful performances. Given the very nature of the story, this is not one for those unprepared or unwilling to handle the realities of prison life. This show delivers one of the very best revenge/what-goes-round-comes-around endings. Definitely not one for young viewers.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

sodapop 03/09/2008 (0 of 1 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

Good, but not quite the outstanding masterpiece to me that some sources make it out to be.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Exeron 03/02/2008 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

The greatest movie ever made. A suprisingly good peformance by Tim Robbins. I was focused and awake through the whole movie. Some said that the movie had a lot of dialouges and no action. I forgot about that because the dialouges were so catchy and you'll love it!

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Riddick51PB 12/30/2007 (1 of 7 found this helpful)

Rating of
2/4 

ugh, overdone, over-rated, over-hyped. in fact, there were times in the movie where i may have wished it over. the fact that members on this website rate this above The Godfather truly reveals that we have some who are not exercising their power to put down the ganja and write an honest review. or, some knuckleheads on meth are writing their reviews before the lab blows up in their face and they are unable to correct their review. so i rated this 1/2 star, to try to bring a semblence of reality back into things. balance yourselves for god's sake.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

bwill 12/20/2007 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

Redemption is a journey - an indescribable and rare emotion. To find a movie that describes something as elusive as redemption is a gem. This film perfectly captures the horror of prison without being maudlin and the joy of righteous vengeance without a blood bath. Sure there are flaws. There's a bit of backstory flashback exposition that I find a bit tedious and the pacing drags a bit in the second half of act two. But I think those are easily overlooked when the film is taken as a whole with the tight story, beautiful cinematography, first-class performances, and, most of all, true emotive content. That's what sets this movie apart. When you watch it, you *will* ask yourself, "would I do that?"

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Sandy Toksvik 09/19/2007 (1 of 2 found this helpful)

Rating of
2.5/4 

It's hard to fathom exactly why such a distinctly normal film as The Shawshank Redemption is so amazingly overrated consistently. It flopped when it was released at the cinema too, so it can't be put down to hype or anything. It's a reasonably entertaining movie. Why people have latched on to this movie though, I still really have no idea.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Sophie B. 09/17/2007 (4 of 12 found this helpful)

Rating of
2.5/4 

Boring. :(

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Allison 09/14/2007 (2 of 3 found this helpful)

Rating of
2.5/4 

The book was better, but this movie provided visuals that the book could not. Good actors, but really, you can't beat the book!

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

GGauthier 08/23/2007 (0 of 1 found this helpful)

Rating of
2/4 

I remember the first time I watched this one. It started... ok. The middle was... fine. And the ending was great. I mean, its ok. But... I need to find more in a movie. I tell you the thing that this movie has. Very good acting, very good plot. That's it. I mean, I need more to be the best movie ever made. It lacks revolutionary effects, revolutionary photography... script. It lacks. That's the word: Lack. It might be in other list. Maybe, one of the best movies about not getting up. Perhaps the best about friends. But certainly, not in my list of best movies ever.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 
Prev  1  2  3  4  5  Next  
 
 
Log In
Help on how to log into FilmCrave
Login with Facebook
Login with FilmCrave
 
 
What Members Are Doing
Movie Talk
New Movie Reviews
New Movie Lists
Movies of 2017 by Stoney McStonerson
Fantastic French Films I Have Seen by Chris Kavan
2017 by Karmand
2016 by Randall
Movies I Want To See by Rod
Top Ten Films of 1974 by KingoftheCorn
Watched in 2017 by tonks76
Top Movie List by Seth

 

 

 

Contact FilmCrave Public Relations    

Advertise and Business

Developer API

Contact Us

Jobs

About us

SiteMap

 

Support FilmCrave

FAQ and Help

News and Press

Terms of Use

Privacy