Create Game Lists on MeltedJoystick.com
FilmCrave home
   Movies  Members
Search +
Searching... Close  
Are you sure you want to delete this comment?
  
 
  Login Using Facebook
Twitter
 
     
 

The Shawshank Redemption (1994) Movie Reviews

Your Rating:
 
 
Buy The Shawshank Redemption (1994) DVD from AmazonBuy The Shawshank Redemption (1994) DVD from Amazon  Add to List: Add to movie listWrite Review +Request correction +Submit a plot +

Quick Movie Reviews

21 - 30 of 43 

mdtinney 04/25/2009 (1 of 1 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

Wonderful adaptation of a Stephen King Short Story. The depth of the main two characters is what makes the movie so enjoyable. Tim Robbins (in his best performance by far) plays Andy so remarkably, it's like the character walked right out of the Short Story. Morgan Freeman's portrayal of the hardened Redd is the perfect Yang to Robbins Ying. I felt like I was part of the movie. The ending is also perfect as it shows you can have hope in any dismal situation. I recommend this movie as a Must See!!! Very thought provocing and will keep you glued to the screen until the credits!

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

GJ81 04/08/2009 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

After my first viewing many many years ago, I would never have thought it would ever be regarded as an all time great. But after re-watching it, and re-watching it, I can see it it now. Its a testament to a films power that its gets better each time you watch it. Layered, thoughtful, and impressively dramatic. Its one for all time.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Juarin85 04/04/2009 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

The Shawshank Redemption is quite possibly the best movie I have seen. A lot of movies lose my interest about halfway though. This movie kept me focused from beginning to end. Great film.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Alexa 03/12/2009 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

A true classic. I'll probably be watching this movie until I'm 100 years old. Incredible storytelling. Awesome performances by each and every cast member. Would have love to see this movie win Best Picture but it had very tough competition with Forrest Gump. Regardless if it won an award or not, its still one of the best films of all time.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Billie 03/09/2009 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

 

One of the few story's of Stephen King that made it to the big screen almost word for word. Fantastically done.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Freddie 12/19/2008 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

It took me years to watch this movie. I thought it was going to be boring. This was absolutely brilliant. I didn't know what to except, I couldn't even begin to predict what was going to happen in those last 15 minutes. This is a great film.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

sapien 11/02/2008 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

This is definitely the best movie ever made; no question about it.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

John Bond Jovi 11/02/2008 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

all i can say is that it is a classic

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

PsychoKing1227 10/03/2008 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

This honestly needs no review. It speaks for itself. Next to most Stephen King movies, this is by far the greatest. I watch it and sob. The title itself offers the most profound of messages, that even in prison can one find God and redeem themselves of all past sins. A masterpiece.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Ichabod Crane 09/19/2008 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

This film is good and that is what it is, I don't know if it is the best ever but it certainly is great. The story just is done just right, as are the performances. It is an interesting film from beginning to end. It is a fascinating and inspiring story that is impeccably made. There is not a single scene that really rings false, it is simply a terrific film. A good film all around particularly its magnificent look adn score.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 
Prev  1  2  3  4  5  Next  
 
 
Log In
Help on how to log into FilmCrave
Login with Facebook
Login with FilmCrave
 
 
What Members Are Doing
Movie Talk
New Movie Reviews
New Movie Lists
Top 2016 by frenchfreyteetor
2015 Movies by Mr Cinema
2015 by Karmand
Top Films of 2012 by Neobowler
Movies First Seen in 2017 by royaluglydudes
Top Movie List by Seth
Movies I've Watched by Chris Ghost
2016 Rated and Ranked by Chris Kavan

 

 

 

Contact FilmCrave Public Relations    

Advertise and Business

Developer API

Contact Us

Jobs

About us

SiteMap

 

Support FilmCrave

FAQ and Help

News and Press

Terms of Use

Privacy