Create Game Lists on MeltedJoystick.com
FilmCrave home
   Movies  Members
Search +
Searching... Close  
Are you sure you want to delete this comment?
  
 
  Login Using Facebook
Twitter
 
     
 

Seven Samurai, The ( Shichinin no samurai ) (1954) Movie Reviews

Your Rating:
 
 
Buy Seven Samurai, The ( Shichinin no samurai ) (1954) DVD from AmazonBuy Seven Samurai, The ( Shichinin no samurai ) (1954) DVD from Amazon  Add to List: Add to movie listWrite Review +Request correction +Submit a plot +

Quick Movie Reviews

1 - 10 of 16 

mitchellyoung 02/06/2013 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

This is Kurosawa's epic - a masterpiece that juggles a distinct cast of characters, some interesting drama, and an impressive series of choreographed battle sequences. Despite its ponderous running length, the film never disappoints and continues to remain a powerful combination of humor and action.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

FSUNoles27TS 12/06/2012 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

The movie that opened me up to more movies. Black and white in another language might be hard for some, but it is worth the watch as this is an amazing piece of film.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

SIngli6 08/03/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

Magnificent drama coupled with expertly choreographed sword-fighting was the forte of oriental auteur Akira Kurosawa, but his directorial prowess with this combination had never effectuated such a long-lasting resonance as it had with 'Seven Samurai', a film that rouses laughter, lamentation, and lust for blood.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

TheManWithNoName 10/01/2009 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

The inspiration for the western The Magnificent Seven. In my opinion this is the second greatest foreign film of all time (The Good, the Bad and the Ugly will always be number 1). The characters in this film are very captivating and inspirational, as George Lucas has said the older samurai was his inspiration for Yoda. Toshiro Mifune's character is probably the best one of all, being the outgoing charismatic son of a farmer who became a samurai. Kurosawa's influence can be felt in many films over time, but none more strongly than Seven Samurai...now if I could only find this on DVD somewhere.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

GJ81 04/01/2009 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

I ask myself, why why did i put off watching this film for so long? I regret now that it has taken 28 years for me to see it. Kurosawa is often hailed as one of the greats, but i'd only ever seen Rashomon, which i did really enjoy. But after seeing Seven Samurai, it is confirmed. He manages to simplify everything, with just a scene, or a line, or a shot. The story just rolls right along, from A to B, with no messing around. Everything is nessecary. It has great flashes of wit, and emotion, and the visuals and music surround it beautifully. Now i can't wait to see his other films.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

sapien 11/12/2008 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

Excellent movie. My favorite part is when the one "samurai" tries to hit the others as they walk through the doorway. But, they block his attack and end up hitting him instead! My least favorite part is the scene with all the slut-shaming in it.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Ichabod Crane 10/31/2008 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

The Seven Samurai is an incredible epic by director Akira Kurosawa telling the story of a small village that recruits Seven Samurai to fight off hoards of bandits stealing their crops. The film although long creates a terrific atmosphere and an amazing sense of place within this very specific period of Japan. It is said to be one of the greatest films of all time for a reason.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

fake_username 02/26/2008 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

Great story telling and perfect characters and character development make this 3 1/2 hour movie go by lightening quick. Not my Kurosawa favorite but one of the most exciting adventure movies ever made.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Allison 12/22/2007 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
2.5/4 

From viewng this film, I could see that the director is talented. I don't go for long films though, usually!

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Sandy Toksvik 09/12/2007 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

This is not an art film, or a martial art film as has been suggested. Its an epic adventure film. Bult around superb character development, and slices of action. At 3 1/2 hours it never seemed long. That should say enough in itself.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 
1  2  Next  
 
 
Log In
Help on how to log into FilmCrave
Login with Facebook
Login with FilmCrave
 
 
What Members Are Doing
Movie Talk
New Movie Reviews
New Movie Lists
2009 by Karmand
To See: 2017 Movies by Alex
My Wish List by bigboy89
Movies I've Watched by Chris Ghost
Top Movie List by Seth
My Wish List by Andrew
Movies I Want To See by Rod
Recent Movies To See by Mr Cinema

 

 

 

Contact FilmCrave Public Relations    

Advertise and Business

Developer API

Contact Us

Jobs

About us

SiteMap

 

Support FilmCrave

FAQ and Help

News and Press

Terms of Use

Privacy